My 1 Year Leap of Faith Anniversary

My God!!! Wow!!!

Impossible things are happening every day!

Today marks my 1 year Leap of Faith Anniversary (clearly that’s the title of my post…lol).  My, how time has really flown!  Just this very day last year on a beautiful Saturday, I packed up all my things and moved to New York City (one of my BFF’s drove with me up the East Coast, not too bad of a drive)!  I took a leap of faith in hopes of following my dreams (I still can’t believe I did such a thing!).  Nervous, was I? Totally! Scared, was I? Uhhh not really.  Excited? HECK yes! LOL!

When I look back and reflect, it took a lot of guts to do such a thing!  My close friends and sisters were extremely supportive; however, my family weren’t exactly happy campers about my decision.  They felt I should’ve stayed and completed school and THEN move to New York City.  But, I really felt in my spirit and in my heart that moving to NYC was the next chapter for me.  Honestly, all I needed was God and that was it.  Well, I got the okay from the man upstairs, so I took that leap of faith.

I believe that the problem that most people had with my decision was that it was such a shocker; it caught everyone off guard! My dreams failed to seek recognition from the minds of others, simply because I didn’t tell them along the way my change in gear.  Honestly, I didn’t feel the need to especially because I was seeking a great deal of clarity and revelation on which path God had for me (often times this is better because you are forced to push out allllllllllllll the many opinions of others and what they think you should with your life).  At times, I felt awful after I spoke with some people about my dreams because the combination look of shock and disappointment in their eyes (or in their voice) was just so unbearable for me.  I understand that people have such great expectations for me but geeshhhhhhh! Unfortunately, I used to be a such an over-considerate people pleaser and I wanted to meet everyone’s expectation, but I had to follow God’s direction for me which meant I had to disregard everything else that wasn’t what God wanted me to do.

Do I have any regrets? Absolutely not! Personally, I haven’t the slightest clue to where I would be had I stayed in school.  But, I’ll tell you this, I’ve had soooooo many incredible experiences which I would never have had experienced if I didn’t move to NYC.  Also, I’ve learned an extraordinary amount of things about myself, shaping into the woman that God has created me to be.  Now.  There were some dark times; difficulties would be an understatement.

But, it was totally worth it.

So I ask you, have you made your leap of faith yet?

If not, what are you waiting for?

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” -Hebrews 11:1 NIV

Leave a Reply

