Understanding the Power of Influence is a Luxury

Making a difference.

This past weekend I had the honor of speaking on a panel for the Black College Tour: College Life Workshop before ambitious high schoolers.  Little do they know how much joy it brought me to impart knowledge into their young minds.  Being able to reflect on my college experience to share wisdom and the tools that I was equipped with, gave me a sense a purpose.  It was an empowering moment understanding that I possessed enough power and influence to encourage one of those amazing students to attend a college or university which essentially will further enhance the richness of their lives.  My experience alone definitely provided more than enough chuckles to spark their curiosity about their possible college adventure!  As I stood before the students and their parents,  I felt a palpable endearment towards making a difference in students’ lives.  Not just in their lives, but in others as well.  I know this is only the beginning of many more speakings, but this start sparked a new found passion.  Why?  I was exposed to the power of influence.  So, why not influence for good?  I may not have a platform to influence millions, but if I can just influence one student, then I’ve done my job.

And here’s a photo of my dapper friend Kraig and myself at the workshop!

Black College Tour

2 thoughts on “Understanding the Power of Influence is a Luxury

Leave a Reply

