The Luxurious Dilemma: Getting Naked at the Spa

Sooooooooo the weekends are for you to relax and chill, right? WRONG! Not for me – it means work, work, and finish whatever I haven’t completed during the week for me! I know it shouldn’t be like that, but I just have so many goals to accomplish this month and this year that I must get a move on with.  However, I am learning how to take care of myself and relax.  A struggle it is.  But, I’m making progress. 

 Well, over the weekend, everything got shut down and my work was neglected! Why?  Because I took an unexpected trip to New Jersey for a spa day with my girl Nicole which was very MUCH needed for the both of us! An adventure it was nonetheless.  We had a great time and even spent the night there which was dope (ended up leaving at 8am, walked to the NJ Transit bus in route back to Manhattan, AND made it back in time for church since I had to sing in the choir yesterday!). 

 Anyways, it was a Korean spa with a variety of saunas to roast in (yes, I mean roast), array of massage rooms, board games provided throughout the three level venue, with an amazing authentic Korean restaurant (we had the chicken teriyaki for dinner and ate with our spoons because the chopsticks were a no-go for us lol) on the center floor.  All the women wore pink uniforms and the men wore white uniforms.  Honestly, everyone was just chilling with no worries and no cares.

But, the thing I wanted to blog about was that there was a naked sauna/hot tub room! We couldn’t come in there with clothes on AT ALL! Darlings, I never seen so many naked women in my LIFE! I found it to be terrifying and uncomfortable, actually! But, Nicole and I decided somehow we will muster up the courage to go in there – naked. LOL. And yesterday morning, we did.  The point is I had to be comfortable, literally, with my body, flaws and all.  It was almost a sense of vulnerability present. Being vulnerable – I hate it. Oh the exposure.  Exposing all of me before these random women? I was scared. I was afraid they would judge me and my body.  There was no way I was entering that room feeling insecure, so it was imperative for me to deal with it prior.  At some point, I just said “eff it, this is my body; who cares if no one likes it.”  Once I said that, freedom reigned and I walked in that room with my head up high, comfortable in my own skin. *Cues Kanye’s ‘All Of The Lights’ intro*   Yes, the other women kept staring at my body, but hey whatever.  I mean, I can’t help that my body looks good and if they want to stare, then stare on!!! *Unbothered* LOL. However, I share this with because all that matters is YOU liking your body and yourself; what others think doesn’t matter.  As long as your comfortable with who you are, nothing can stop you.  When you stop worrying about what others think, freedom truly does reign. So, I’m glad I overcame this insecurity in this hilarious story, BUT my point has been made though.  Have an amazing day and be comfortable in your own skin ;)

See below for pics (sorry no naked pics, creepers lol)!

Silliness with my girl Nicole!

My dinner: Chicken Teriyaki (don’t ask me what that other stuff is because I don’t know either lol)

Bathroom selfie anyone?

2 thoughts on “The Luxurious Dilemma: Getting Naked at the Spa

Leave a Reply

